The Danger of Valentine’s

The Dark Horse

This morning I found this rather bitter piece of writing that I wrote on Valentine’s Day. So it is out of date, but hey, better late than never right?

Alone on Valentine’s Day: the dreaded admission of myself, and many other people I’m sure. Christina Perri’s Jar of Hearts and Adele’s Set Fire to the Rain played on the radio. Needless to say, after they ended, I wasn’t feeling particularly lovey-dovey. They’re not really conducive to appreciating Valentine’s Day. Rather, it made me feel better about my lack-of-a-relationship. See, Valentine’s Day is a scam to me. It’s a day invented to make people feel like they have to spend money on their significant other, while the prices on flowers and chocolate proportionately increase; how terribly convenient for the Hallmark store. 

I didn’t feel lonely yesterday. I felt a little bit smug that I had only myself to worry about. Wow…

View original post 201 more words

Leave a Reply

